underpainting

It took about 3 hours to get this underpainting down (after a week of choosing which photo to base it on, thinking about colour and composition etc). Half way through things started going awry, as i painted my sons hand in too soon and too high up. I struggled with the proportions after that but got some help from my teacher who pulled the arm down a bit. Things went well from there. I’m happy with it so far, excited about putting in colour but nervous about messing it up. Just stay calm and keep painting, I’m learning here! In the past I have drawn oulines and coloured them in with paint, so this is a whole new way of seeing and working for me.

2 responses to “underpainting

Leave a Reply

